Brp305's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“I’M JUST KEEPING IT REAL”


Everywhere you go, you hear the phrase “I’m just keeping it real!” What has happened to our society that we have to constantly emphasize in conversation that I’m just keeping it real? When did lying become a normal part of life?

The first time I heard that phrase, it was regurgitated by a former basketball player and it was our initial meeting. He was tall, casually dressed and impressive to observe from a distance. As our conversation took shape, I could tell that he had his rapping game down to a science. I was cracking up on the inside but I was very polite and appeared engaged. What struck me as interesting about him, was the fact that he repeatedly use the phrase
“I’m just keeping it real” so much so, until I finally interrupted him with the question, “What other way would you keep it?”

After that encounter, I began to pay attention too how many times I heard that phrase. My goodness! It’s everywhere. I’m just keeping it real!…I’m just keeping it real!…I’m just keeping it real!.. And then they start lying… What’s up it that?

Don’t hate on me! It’s just an observation. After all, “I’M JUST KEEPING IT REAL!”

May 19, 2010 - Posted by | Keeping It Real | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

